Update 2: A Little Bit of My Story

The newest addition to Home of the Open Heart is a hospice center that provides end stage of life care to those suffering from HIV/AIDS.

The Hospice center opened its doors after ten years of prayer and preparations. One of the center’s needs is a full time bilingual nurse who can speak both English and Thai. The main goal of this position is to provide patient care as well as training for the local Thai staff.

On January 2017 I will be volunteering with Home of the Open Heart to fill this position.

hohlogo

My Story with Home of the Open Heart

I first stumbled across this organization online as I was looking to be involved with medical missions in Thailand. When I sent in my resume to the director (Penny), it seemed that the needs of the organization and my skill set were a perfect match. Working with the HIV/AIDS population was also something that had been on my heart to do since I was a little girl. This was one of the reasons I went into the nursing field. She advised me, however, to first visit the campus to see how I felt about committing there as a volunteer nurse.

img_8129
The director, Penny, with one of the children at Home of the Open Heart. Her smile is just lovely.

I began praying for an opportunity to be involved with this ministry. It wasn’t until January of this year that I was able to visit the campus. I felt much peace about the visit and in meeting the team. I sent in a volunteer application and was accepted for a nursing position on January 2017.

I’d like to involve you in this ministry through telling you the stories of the lives influenced by this ministry, as well as my own story as I go on this journey. Most of all, I would like you to join me on this journey of seeing God write this story of how He can use this ministry to change lives for His glory.

To learn more about the Hospice center please follow this link: mariab_hospice-info and check out the organization’s website: Home of the Open Heart

Contact me: mbangcong26@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

